It’s That Time Again!

Image

Sorry I have been away for so long. I’ve been busy unpacking and my summer classes started so I haven’t had time for much else – especially sleep, but I’ve missed blogging.

Good news! I’ve finally gotten settled in the new place and there are no more boxes left to unpack. I love it here. Sure I miss the water back home, but the weather here is amazing and I truly adore the new digs. I’ve even managed to find my way around a bit more without relying on the GPS, but I would love some new friends.

Writing is going well. I’ve finally connected my characters and formed a bond so it should be easy going from here I hope. My biggest concern when writing is to make the story and characters believable. I’m such a harsh movie critic I look at books the same way. I place my self in the position of the reader and if I don’t think it would make sense to them or if there are any questions left over I fix it. Sure it has taken me longer than most probably for a first novel, but this means a lot to me and I want it to be good. Once I’m finished I really hope you like it.

I’m at the “Ooh it’s getting good” point of writing and there is an excitement that goes along with that. I just wish I could have more uninterrupted writing time. I wish I could say work is the problem, but it is not. It will be soon I hope, but there’s not much employment for writers (that I am aware of) in Jackson. I even applied at the local newspaper but so far, no luck.

If I were working at the moment it would mean I would have even less time for graduate courses, writing, housework and all the other things that go along with life.

I joined one of the dating sites to make some friends because I can’t remember the last time I went on a date. That is another wasteland area. I don’t know what it is these days with men and women. Not everything is about the physical and not everything is about sex. Okay, enough of that soapbox.

There are several writing contests I’d like to enter but I haven’t had time to focus on them. One is a memoir type entry which sounds really interesting. I think I’m just going to have to bite the bullet and submit something for that one. I think it needs to be between 2,000 and 3,000 words.

I will look seriously into that and get back to you. I hope everyone is having a great week. We’re halfway there and I’m halfway to my next residency. Just eight more days and I’m off again to Kentucky and MSU. The hotel is booked and this time I’ll be driving my own car – though I’d rather a rental. It’s funny when I tell people I’m going to my residency they think I’m in medical school. I will have to start saying writing workshop or writing residency.

Anyway, the two cats and the Jack Russell Terrier will be traveling with me once again, but this time instead of taking me three days to get there it will only take a little under two hours. The move was worth it. I tried to get my mom to stay with them while I went, but she wasn’t able to fly in from Texas since she will be working during that time so they’ll be with me.

I’ll make sure to take lots of pictures and share them with you when I return in a few weeks. Also, I’ll update you on my new favorite coffee shop. I haven’t found one here in Jackson to replace the one I had back home so when I get to Kentucky I’ll be filling up on fattening asiago cheese bagels with cream cheese and skinny chai lattes. I know why bother to do low fat when you’re pigging out on the other stuff. I consider it to be a reasonable balance between the two. Besides when I return home, I’ll just kill myself with a few more pilates sessions LOL.

Blessings to you all.

: )

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

